Marquis Daniels and Psalm 91

Posted: June 15, 2012 by Ricky Keeler in Interviews, NBA

Photo Credit: Matthew West

In our next interview series, I talked with Boston Celtics’ guard Marquis Daniels. Daniels graduated from Auburn University as a shooting guard where he was second team all-SEC in 2003. He was undrafted, but signed by the Dallas Mavericks and made NBA all-rookie 2nd team in his first year. Currently, Daniels is a reserve for the Boston Celtics.

Even though the Celtics’ run to the NBA Finals fell a bit short when they lost a seven game series to the Miami Heat, Boston still had a great season. He played in an average of twelve minutes per game and averaged three points per game for Doc Rivers’ club.

When I talked with him, his faith really stood out to me. As you read this interview, keep in mind the influence his grandparents had on his faith as well as his favorite Bible chapter always being a constant reminder to him. Enjoy the Interview and God Bless!

1. First off, Marquis, how did you come to know the Lord?

M: My grandfather and grandmother were the pastor and mother of our church, so I was in church every Wednesday and Sunday.  I had no options but to get to know the LORD!!
2. Who have been your Christian role models both off the court and on the court? How?

M: My role models off the court has been my bigma who I was speaking about earlier, she has been the glue to my family and she’s never lost her faith and continues to serve the lord to this day, as far as on the court I haven’t really had any sit downs with anyone to really get into there spiritual world!

3. If you can name your favorite verse or a verse that exemplifies your walk with Christ, what would it be and why?

M: My favorite verse is Psalms 91. I have the whole verse tatted on my side word for word. I used to have to read to my grandparents frequently due to their eye problems and my grandfather was blind.

4. Do you think religion and sports can co-exist in the locker room today? Why or Why not?

M: I think it can co-exist, you see players praying in there lockers before they take the court, but everyone has different views on religion, so I’m sure it wouldn’t be a problem!

5. If a teammate came up to you asking about your faith, what would you say to them?

M: I’m not afraid to acknowledge my LORD and savior and I’m open to discuss with anyone to see how they view things.  I may  learn something from them as I hope they can gain knowledge from me!!
After Marquis mentioned Psalm 91 to me, I gave it a read and it was a very encouraging chapter. One verse stuck out to me in particular because it shows that in any situation, the Lord is there to protect us in any situation. As Christians, we need to remember that in spite of our circumstances sometime, we can look to God for strength.

“For he will command his angels concerning you to guard you in all your waysOn their hands they will bear you up, lest you strike your foot against a stone.” (Psalm 91:11-12)

We thank Marquis for taking the time out of his day to interview with us about his faith!

Leave a Reply

