Logan Thomas: Throwing Touchdowns For Christ

Posted: June 14, 2012 by Ricky Keeler in College Football, Interviews
Tags: , , , , ,

Photo Credit: John McDonnell/Washington Post)

For the next part of our Jesus N Sports Interview series, I called up a great college football player as well as a great brother in Christ. He is going to be a redshirt junior at Virginia Tech this fall. He is also expected to be one of the top Heisman candidates this season as well a projected top five-top ten pick in the 2013 NFL Draft.

His name is Logan Thomas. Logan started his career in Blacksburg as a backup to Tyrod Taylor. 2011 was Logan’s breakout year. He completed about sixty percent of his passes, threw for over 3,000 yards and nineteen touchdowns. But, what makes Thomas special at his position is that he is a dual-threat quarterback. He also ran for 469 yards and eleven touchdowns. He can make plays with both his arms and legs. This is why he is a Heisman Finalist and is working on leading the Hokies to great things in 2012.

When conducting this interview, I felt truly blessed to have ten-fifteen minutes of Logan’s fellowship. As you read the Q+A that we had, I hope you are all as encouraged as I was reading this interview. I know I say that a lot, but talking with all these athletes has given me great encouragement to keep striving for the Gospel and running the race! I hope and pray this leads you along that path as well:

1. First off, how did you come to know the Lord?

L: When I was young, it was in my family. I was raised by my grandparents and I went to church every day. They have been together for 47 years now. I was saved when I was five years old thanks to my grandparents.

2. Who have been your role models along your walk with Christ both on and off the field?

L: My main role model has been my grandmother. She calls me twice a week and reminds me to pray every day. On the field, never really had a role model till Kevin Durant who is not afraid to show his faith.

    3. What is your favorite Bible Verse or the Bible Verse that best exemplifies your walk with Christ?

L: Psalm 23 – Every day is a struggle, every day is a fight. With God’s help, the day will go by easier and He will always have your back.

4. Logan, do you think religion and sports can co-exist in today’s locker rooms? Talk about some of the fellowship you have had with teammates at Virginia Tech.

L: Religion and sports can co-exist. Guys in our locker room are not afraid to stand up for what they believe in. We do share time every Friday where a group of guys who are saved have a chapel. We have speakers come in and tell stories. Last year, before the Marshall game, we had a guest speaker tell the story and a lot of his brothers got saved. It was one of the most joyous Friday nights of my life.

5. If a teammate came up to you and asked about your faith, what would you say?

L: First, How well do you know Christ? God has always been there for me and you even if you don’t know Him. You never know what kind of struggle you are going through. Many people blame God for struggles, but they do not know God can pull out of them. They will see how God is working in my life. You tell them about the Bible and to read the books and you tell them how to be saved. We have a team chaplain, so I would take a brother on my team under my wing and be there for him. Our team chaplain has been a blessing for all of us. His name is Johnny Shelton and he has helped me in my walk drastically.

6. You guys just finished up spring practices. How is the team looking so far?

L: We are looking pretty good. Our offense and defense will be stronger than we are last year. Guys are clicking on all cylinders. We have more seniors that know what they are doing and are ready to step up. Questions about our tailback, but the tandem/trio can make up for the loss of David Wilson. Our goal is a division championship, then an ACC Championship, and hopefully a National Championship.

7. My last question is what is it like to play for Coach Beamer?

L: It’s an honor to play for Coach. He is a great guy, he is not afraid to let you come in his office and that is how the whole coaching staff is.

We at Jesus N Sports wish Logan and the Virginia Tech Hokies the best of luck in 2012!

Comments
  1. Chad says:

    Keep up the good work, Ricky! Really find these interviews encouraging, and since we’re going through very tough times as a family right now, these articles are a breath of fresh air!

  2. steven galbreath says:

    Truly a blessing. I am a Tarheel fan, but unless they are playing VT, I will be cheering VT on…definitely keeping Logan and his teammates in prayer, he is a shining example of how God can keep and carry our children through when we stay in their lives supporting them in the works of the Lord, as his Grandmother continues to. That’s Proverbs 22:6 shining through. Continue to be the blessing young man, God has great things ahead for you.

Leave a Reply

