Mother’s Day

Posted: May 12, 2012 by John D. Hayden in NBA, Sports Devotionals

I have been watching the NBA playoffs this year mostly because my favorite teams: The Thunder and the Celtics are still in it. Something I have noticed lately is how many times the camera focuses on a players mother and then the commentators make a comment about her. I have seen Kevin Durant’s mom on the screen several times this year smiling, clapping and at times jumping up and down and cheering for her son.
I even had the opportunity to visit with a mother who’ son plays basketball for the Jayhawks. Even during the Championship game this year, the camera focused on her face for a quick second. It is great to have the support of your mom while you pursue your dreams. It is great to watch these Mom’s on the camera cheering and even at times crying for their sons.

God tells us in Ephesians 6:1-3:

“Children, obey your parents in the Lord, for this is right. “Honor your father and mother”—which is the first commandment with a promise— “so that it may go well with you and that you may enjoy long life on the earth.”

Growing up I always dreamed about being the next John Elway and John Stockton. My Grandpa told me that I had a great arm and should play quarterback. I played neighborhood football and even flag football but when it was time to play tackle my dream was crushed. My mom wouldn’t let me play because she was afraid I would get injured and break my neck. So instead of playing football my parents bought me a moped and on the first day to drive it, I wrecked it and broke my collarbone. So basketball was my next dream to fufill but again my dream was crushed because Im not a great basketball player. I played in Junior High and my mom was at every game cheering me on even when I was on the bench.
When I got into High School, I decided to go out for track cause I thought I could be in the Olympics one day. (very funny) So I signed up to run distance and throw the Javelin. Well I never made it to the Olympics but I did get to run the 800 at the Ulysses Invitational track meet in front of hundreds of people. To be completely honest I cheated at track by not practicing like I should havs. Our coach would drop us off at in the countrt and we would need to run back to the track. Well I had a friend pick me up and drop me off a block from the track and I would get some water to wet myself down to look like I was sweating. So on the day of our invitational track meet I get to show everyone that Im not in shape at all. So we line up for our race, the gun goes off and Im in first place for awhile until I totally run out of gas and everyone passes me and I end up in last place. I keep running and get passed again by half of the runners. Everyone makes it to the finish line except for me and before I even get there they are starting up another race. I decide to just quit until I hear this voice saying, you can do it John David. That voice was my sweet mother who has always been there for me during this race called life.
I finished that race and my mom just a few months ago finished her race. This year has been really tough for me, losing my job and losing my mom. My mom is my hero, my spiritual mentor, my support and who I dearly miss. I regret not being able to see her as much as I would have like too. Tomorrow we celebrate Mother’s Day and this will be the first year I wont be able to call my mom or send her a card in the mail.
Just as Timothy had his mother and grandmother, Lois and Eunice, pass their faith to him, my mom did the same for my sister and me.
She would pray for me, she would read the bible to me, she took me to worship right after I was born and taught me about what Jesus did for me. My mom, Sandra Hayden, never had a camera focused on her, never had the tv commentators talk about her but my mom is the greatest mom that a son could ever have.
Today I want to shine the spotlight on her and let the world know how blessed I am to have her in my life. When football, basketball and track didnt work out, Tennis was my next choice and at every tennis match there was my mom cheering me on even when she didnt know the rules of the game. Every dream I has my mom supported me in it even when some of those dreams never were fulfilled. It is because of the values, principles, morals that she lived by and passed on to me is the reason Im the man who I am today.
She taught me how to love, laugh, dream, live for Jesus, be a servant, care for others, smile and make others wonder what you are up to and she taught me to be myself. I remember my Junior year of high school when I got into a fight with Greg Oxford. I pushed him because he made fun of my mom and when I turn back around he punched me in the nose and I bled everywhere. My mom was 4′ 8″ and I was teased about her in junior high and high school. This particular day my mom had to come and pick me up from school. When the principal told her the story of what happened and the reason I got into this fight, she started to cry because I stood up for her.
There are so many stories about her but I want to leave you with one. When she was in the hospital in Wichita, KS dealing with bleeding and her liver I wanted to go see her but I didnt have the money to go. I called her a few times and the last time I talked to her was when she was in the ICU because of a sweet nurse letting my mom use her phone. During our phone conversation everytime I wanted to ask how she was she ended up turning it around asking about how I was and how my family was. She knew we were struggling and cared so much about our pain and forgot about her own. She told me on the phone to be strong, trust God, love my family, tell my family she loved them and to never give up on my dreams. That was the last time I talked to her and two days later my wife shows up to work to tell me my mom died. I miss you mom so much but I know you are in Heaven cheering me on like you always did and from the crowd yelling at me, John David, you can do it and keep running the race and never give up.
So this Mother’s Day, wrap your mothers with love and show them how much you admire them and appreciate them because you never know how much longer you will have them in your life.
Happy Mother’s Day to the greatest mom who ever lived and who taught me so much. I love you
mom !!

Comments
  1. SIS Janet says:

    DITTO!!
    She will always be with us and we will meet her on the streets of gold. Love you!

Leave a Reply

