We Will Never Forget

Posted: September 11, 2011 by Ricky Keeler in Tennis, USA

(Photo Credit: Getty Images)

Today is the tenth year anniversary of the attacks on the World Trade Center, the Pentagon, and Shanksville, Pennsylvania. It is a time of remembrance for all the loved one that were lost and a time of saying thank you to the first responders, the FDNY, NYPD, and all the people who came out to try to save lives and pull people out of the rubble. Throughout the week,

I did not lose somebody close to me on that day, but I still remember everything that happened and where I was as we all do. I was in my 4th grade class on a normal Tuesday on Staten Island. I noticed that all the kids in my class were leaving early, but I had no idea why. At about 1:30, my mom picked me up and told my sister and I what had happened. My uncle was working nearby, but he got out safely while my dad was stuck in Long Island due to the closing of the bridges.

It’s these times that stick out in our minds today. Tonight, we will see the New York Mets and the New York Jets as well as every team in the MLB and NFL will honor the memory of those lost on that day ten years ago. Sports was a way for people to just keep their minds off the situation for a couple of hours. I still remember the home run hit by Mike Piazza the first day baseball resumed in New York and I still get goosebumps.

Yesterday, I was watching the US Open where next to the court there is in white paint the date 9-11-01. I applaud the USTA for putting that by Arthur Ashe court during championship weekend. But, it is these comments by Rafael Nadal after his match vs. Andy Murray that made me appreciate my favorite tennis player more and more. After his four set against Andy Murray, Nadal told the media about his remembrance of ten years ago

“That’s a hard day for all the people in New York tomorrow,” Nadal said, “all the people in America. But I think for all the people around the world, too, no? I am not an exception.”

Then, the media asked him about how he would commemorate the day: “Tomorrow I’m going to be at the hotel,” Nadal said. “So, you know, I cannot do much. You can have silence in memory of them, but the pain is done. It’s difficult to accept, and the way to . . .you cannot do much. Just remember the moment and have the support for the families.”

These were great words spoken by the defending champion. We wish we can do more, but all we can do is take time out of our day and pray for those families who lost people on that sad day.

During my daily reading of the Bible, I came across the book of Lamentations. It sounds like a sad book just by the name of it, but there was a powerful message that Jeremiah wrote in chapter 3 as he was sad for the captivity of the nation (Israel) that he warned would happen if they did not change their ways:

“My soul continually remembers it and is bowed down within me. But this I call to mind,
and therefore I have hope: The steadfast love of the LORD never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.“ (Lamentations 3:20-23)

This verse reminds me of the spirit of America. After the attacks, America did not fall apart, but it only grew stronger. People that hated each other loved one another because we are all proud to be Americans! Today, I exhort you to keep in your hearts the families and loved ones of the victims from all three sites and Flight 93.

Also, I pray that you keep looking to the Lord in this difficult time. It may not be easy, but when we have the Lord, His love never leaves us. As the verse says, His mercies never end! This country stood strong in the face of tragedy and it continues to do so this very day.

To all the firefighters, Port Authority Police, EMS workers, first responders, soldiers fighting overseas for our freedom,  and anyone who helped people during 9/11/01 who are reading this article today, all I can say is Thank You!

May God Bless You All and May God Bless America!

Comments

Leave a Reply

