ID

Posted: August 15, 2011 by John D. Hayden in NFL

Desmond Bishop (Photo: NBC Sports)

Would you make sure before you even left the hotel that you had your ID and wallet on you before seeing the President of the United States?
Well what if you forgot and everyone else got to see him but you didn’t because the security wouldn’t let you the front gate because you didn’t have an ID.
Well that was the case for, Desmond Bishop, linebacker for the Green Bay Packers. The Packers went to the White House on Friday to be honored for winning the Super Bowl. Bishop was the only player who didn’t get to meet the President because he didn’t have proper photo identification and couldn’t get through security. He wrote on twitter that he forgot his id on the plane.

“I forgot my id on plane so won’t get access to see @barackobama,” Bishop wrote

Surely his teammates and coaches could have vouched for him that he was the one and only Desmond Bishop linebacker for the Green Bay Packers, but that apparently didn’t work for the Secret Service. So since he couldn’t get to shake hands with the President, Desmond decided to go back to the plane and get some sleep.

This story reminds me of how we need to make sure we have the proper identification. Jesus during the Sermon on the Mount in Matthew 7:22-24 said,   “Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but the one who does the will of my Father who is in heaven. On that day many will say to me, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name, and cast out demons in your name, and do many mighty works in your name?’ And then will I declare to them, ‘I never knew you; depart from me, you workers of lawlessness.” We can’t assume we are going to make it to heaven just because we call him Lord and Master. We have to walk the walk and talk the talk. We can’t just say Lord and not do his will. We need to make sure that we are washed by the blood of the Lamb. In Matthew 10:32-33, Jesus give us a warning, “Whoever acknowledges me before others, I will also acknowledge before my Father in heaven. But whoever disowns me before others, I will disown before my Father in heaven.”

Jesus says if we acknowledge him before men, he will acknowledge us before God and if we deny him, He will deny us before God. Paul writes in Philippians 2:12-13, “Therefore, my dear friends, as you have always obeyed—not only in my presence, but now much more in my absence—continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling, 13 for it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose.” That we as individuals need to work out our own salvation. We need to make sure we are living the life God has called us to live. We need to acknowledge that Jesus is our Lord and Master and act like it as well. One day there will be a judgement day and we will either hear: Get away from me I never knew you or Job well done good and faithful servant, come on in.

Our friends can only help us get so far but when we we hit the security gate, will we have the proper identification-the blood of Jesus covering us. Don’t forget your ID on the plane of life, don’t just go take a nap, but it’s time to wake up and make sure that we are covered by Jesus blood and we are living lives that is worthy to God.

Comments
  1. 7Boss1 says:

    Great work bro God has truly blessed you with the ability to write

Leave a Reply

