Giving Glory to God

Posted: August 11, 2011 by John D. Hayden in NFL

Sam Acho -Giving glory to God (Photo: Zimbio)

I’m a sports nut and some could say I’m obsessed with sports especially with the Kansas Jayhawks. I’m very excited that the NFL Lockout is over and Preseason Football started tonight. As I write this I’m listening to the Raiders Vs Cardinals game and hoping that the Raiders pull this one out.

I have been on twitter for awhile now and I even have followers, which is kind of cool. Today as I was surfing all the tweets, this tweet came up and I wanted to share with you all.

“God is good. Getting ready to worship Him on the field tonight against Oakland in our 1st preseason game. I’ll be wearing #94. Pray for me.” Sam Acho 

Sam plays linebacker for the Arizona Cardinals. Sam is a rookie from the university of Texas. On his twitter profile he writes this: “I believe that God sent His Son Jesus to die on the cross for our sins. I’m pumped because I know that God will use my failures to glorify Himself. I fail a lot.

Wow, that is so encouraging to me and I hope it is to you as well. So many of you have clicked on our blog and read our articles. We want to thank you for all your support and love but all the Glory goes to God. We want to glorify him with the articles we write and for letting us have the ability to write about our passions for Christ and Sports.  Paul writes to the Corinthians in 1 Corinthians 10:31, “So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.” Paul also wrote to the Colossians in chapter 3:17, “And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.” That is what authentic Christianity is all about, giving the glory to God and whatever we do we should do it the name of Jesus. So Ricky and I want to give God the glory for everything and we hope you do to. Just like Sam Acho, we want to worship God by the words we write and we hope they are encouraging to you. Thanks for getting us over 1,000 views and commenting and subscribing to our posts. We worship an awesome God who has done so much for me and I want to glorify him with my life.

Comments
  1. […] Giving Glory to God (jesusnsports.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

