Keeping a Promise

Posted: August 8, 2011 by John D. Hayden in College Football

A Real Father Keeps His Promise. (Photo: Sports Illustrated)

Keeping a promise is so important today. A promise is something we said we will do for someone no matter what. I remember growing up my friends would always say: I promise, cross my heart, hope to die. Than we would make sure they didn’t have any fingers or toes crossed. A promise isn’t making sure we don’t cross our fingers but it is a commitment to someone to do or not to do something. It really comes down to keeping our word.

A promise is a promise and just this week a College coach made a promise his son and will keep it even if it is Fan Appreciation Day. Oklahoma State Head Coach Mike Gundy may never escape his You Tube hit, “I’m a man. I’m 40”, but he is proving that it takes a real man to be a Father. Gundy promised his son that if his baseball team would make it to the championship in the USSSA 32 World Series, he would be there to watch him play today. This meant that Gundy missed the Fan Day and the Media day yesterday but as Gundy put it, “Fan Day is one of my favorite days of the year. Like I’ve said before, the worst thing about being a coach is that you never get to see your own kids’ games. This might be a once in a lifetime opportunity and I want to be there for my son.” Gundy was gone for about 24 hours, but the time he spent watching his own son play ball is priceless. I applaud you Coach for being a man who showed everyone want it mean to be a real Father.

Talking about real Fathers, we have one who also keeps his promises. Peter writes in 2 Peter 1:3,4: “His divine power has granted to us all things that pertain to life and godliness, through the knowledge of him who called us to his own glory and excellence,by which he has granted to us his precious and very great promises, so that through them you may become partakers of the divine nature, having escaped from the corruption that is in the world because of sinful desire.”

Peter tells us that God’s power has granted us everything that pertains to life and He has granted to us his precious and great promises that he will never break. God gives us promises if we do something that he asks us to do. There are so many promises from God in the bible for us, yes for you and me. Here is a just a few of the promises God has made to us and will keep if we do his will.

Philippians 4:19: “And my God will supply every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus.”

Philippians 4:6-7: “do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

Isaiah 41:10: “fear not, for I am with you;
be not dismayed, for I am your God;
I will strengthen you, I will help you,
I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”

Hebrews 13:5-6: “Keep your life free from love of money, and be content with what you have, for he has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.” So we can confidently say, “The Lord is my helper; I will not fear; what can man do to me?”

This is just some of the promises God has made to you and me. When God told Noah to build an ark and that it would rain for forty days and forty nights, he made a promise to him after the ark rested in Genesis 9:11-16. “I establish my covenant with you, that never again shall all flesh be cut off by the waters of the flood, and never again shall there be a flood to destroy the earth.” 12And God said, “This is the sign of the covenant that I make between me and you and every living creature that is with you, for all future generations: 13I have set my bow in the cloud, and it shall be a sign of the covenant between me and the earth. 14When I bring clouds over the earth and the bow is seen in the clouds, 15 I will remember my covenant that is between me and you and every living creature of all flesh. And the waters shall never again become a flood to destroy all flesh. 16When the bow is in the clouds, I will see it and remember the everlasting covenant between God and every living creature of all flesh that is on the earth.”

We have a Real Father who has made so many promises to us, He has fulfilled every promise and will keep every promise he has made. So what can be said about God’s promises to us? He has promised to supply our needs, He has promised us that there is no super temptation out there and promises us a way out, He has promised us victory over sin and death because of what Jesus did for us, He promised that all things work together for good to those who love and serve him faithfully and God has promised us eternal life if we believe, repent, confess and be baptized and live the life we committed to live. Just like how Coach Gundy showed us that real fathers keep their promises to their children, God also keeps his promises to his children. As Mike took time off for his son Gunner, God is always there for you. The question really should be, Have we kept our promises to God?

Comments
  1. patton26 says:

    Incredible piece of writing. Continue to educate man.

  2. […] mike gundy jesusnsports.wordpress.com […]

Leave a Reply

