God Knows You

Posted: July 28, 2011 by John D. Hayden in NFL

John Beck (Photo: realredskins.com)

It was an embarrassing moment for John Beck on Monday as he showed up to the Redskins Park to visit with offensive coordinator Kyle Shanahan. He wasn’t recognized or identified as the Quarterback and wasn’t allowed to enter the building. It wasn’t just because the players couldn’t report till Tuesday, it was because the security guard had no idea who he was. Mike Jones from the Washington Post wrote: “He was turned away at the security gate by a guard who didn’t know who he was. Beck said of not being recognized, “I’m OK with that, I haven’t done anything yet.”

We know names of Quarterbacks like Donovan McNabb, Eli Manning, Peyton Manning, Joe Namath, Tom Brady, Drew Brees and if we saw them on the street we would recognize them and know them right away. So if I was in the shoes of the security guard that day, I would probably do the same. I’m for sure I wouldn’t recognize  John Beck if he was in my neighborhood or delivering me pizza. According to the head coach of the Redskins, Mike Shanahan, is adamant that John can be the Redskins starting quarterback this season. I didn’t even know who he was until I read a story about him. I thought he was a guy that I went to college with back in the 80’s. Here is some information about him: John was drafted in the second round in 2007 by the Dolphins. In two years with them, he started just four games and couldn’t beat out Pennington or Henne for playing time. In 2009, he spent time wearing a Ravens uniform but never got on the field. So now hopefully the security guard and the rest of the world will recognize and know John Beck.

I know someone who knows John Beck more than Mike Shanahan, more than the media, more than the sports world and more than you and me. That someone is God. God knows you and he recognizes you. David in Psalm 139:14-16, writes:

14 I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.[a] Wonderful are your works;
   my soul knows it very well.
15 My frame was not hidden from you,when I was being made in secret,
   intricately woven in the depths of the earth.
16Your eyes saw my unformed substance;in your book were written, every one of them,
   the days that were formed for me,
   when as yet there was none of them.

God knows our soul. God knows our intentions, motivations, anxieties, deepest hurts and most noble ambitions. God made you just right, because as the Psalmist writes you were fearfully and wonderfully made. The beginning of this Psalm, David writes this about God knowing us.

1O LORD, you have searched me and known me! 2You know when I sit down and when I rise up;
   you discern my thoughts from afar.
3You search out my path and my lying down
   and are acquainted with all my ways.
4Even before a word is on my tongue,
   behold, O LORD, you know it altogether.
5You hem me in, behind and before,
   and lay your hand upon me.
6 Such knowledge is too wonderful for me;
   it is high; I cannot attain it.

Even Bob Dylan wrote a song entitled, “God Knows.”

God knows you ain’t pretty.God knows it’s true. God knows there ain’t anybody, Ever gonna take the place of you

God knows it’s a struggle
God knows it’s a crime
God knows there’s gonna be no more water
But fire next time

God don’t call it treason
God don’t call it wrong
It was supposed to last a season
But it’s been so strong for so long

God knows it’s fragile
God knows everything
God knows it could snap apart right now
Just like putting scissors to a string

God knows it’s terrifying
God sees it all unfold
There’s a million reasons for you to be crying
You been so bold and so cold

God knows that when you see it
God knows you’ve got to weep
God knows the secrets of your heart
He’ll tell them to you when you’re asleep

God knows there’s a river
God knows how to make it flow
God knows you ain’t gonna be taking
Nothing with you when you go

God knows there’s a purpose
God knows there’s a chance
God knows you can rise above the darkest hour
Of any circumstance

God knows there’s a heaven
God knows it’s out of sight
God knows we can get all the way from here to there
Even if we’ve got to walk a million miles by candlelight

Copyright © 1990 by Special Rider Music

God Knows You. The next time you ever fell like no one knows you or recognizes you or you fell like you are a nobody, remember God knows you and made you a Somebody just like John Beck.

Leave a Reply

