Loyalty

Posted: July 22, 2011 by John D. Hayden in Golf

The latest saga in the life of Tiger Woods is that he fired his caddie, Steve Williams this past week. Steve was Tiger’s caddie for dozen of years and has been loyal to him even through the adversity in Tiger’s life the past few years.In interviews in the New Zeland Herald, Steve said he wasted two years of his life by standing by Tiger through his injuries and eruption’s in the golfer’s private life. Steve also said he has lost all respect for Tiger and feels like his staunch loyalty to Tiger had not been repaid. In another interview with a New Zealand Television, Steve said:

“I’m a very big stickler for loyalty and I stuck with Tiger through his difficult period when a lot of people thought I should have left his side,” he said. “That was the most difficult period that I’ve ever been through in my life. I’m pretty hardheaded and took it probably a lot better than my wife and family did, but there’s no way that I should have been put through that.” “Williams said he felt like he’d been considered guilty by association after sticking with Woods during the scandal. “My name should have been cleared immediately. It wasn’t and that’s what makes it even more disappointing what’s transpired.” he told TVNZ. “I never really got pardoned from that scandal so the timing of it is extraordinary. You could say I’ve wasted two years of my life.”

Being loyal to someone for so many years means a lot in this world. According to Fred Reichheld in his book, The Loyalty Effect. He defines loyalty as the willingness to make an investment or personal sacrifice to strengthen a relationship. Then dictionary defines loyalty as faithfulness to commitments or obligations, and faithful adherence to a sovereign, government, leader or cause. Loyalty is really being faithful to someone through the victories and defeats in life. We are told to be loyal to our spouse, to our employer, and to our friends. I know someone who has been loyal to me all my life, God. God is faithful, he keeps his promises, he has been there in my life when I feel like the world is falling apart and loves me for who I am.  God has been there in my life when everything is going great and life is wonderful. I pray that God would never say to me what Steve said about Tiger, “You could say I’ve wasted forty one years.”

Paul writes about God in 1 Corinthians 1:9, “God is faithful, by whom you were called into the fellowship of his Son, Jesus Christ our Lord.”  The Lamentations writer puts God’s faithfulness like this:

“The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases. His mercies never come to an end.They are new every morning.Great is thy faithfulness.” (Lamentations 3:22-23 ESV)

Think about how loyal God is to you and now we need to ask ourselves how loyal are we to God? Are you loyal? Is God the authority in your life? Are you faithful and true to Him? Is your allegiance only to God?  James tells us in James 4:8: “Draw near to God, and he will draw near to you. Cleanse your hands, you sinners, and purify your hearts, you double-minded.” If we draw near to God, God will draw near to us. His loyalty is shown in so many ways to us, how are we showing our loyalty to him.

Comments
  1. Jonathan C. says:

    Great article. Really makes you think, “Where are my loyalties?” and “What am I doing for the Lord?”

Leave a Reply

