Helping Others Find Hope

Posted: July 20, 2011 by Ricky Keeler in NFL

Tim Tebow stiff-arms the competition on the field. Off the field, he is a model for how we should lend a hand to whoever needs it (Dale Zanine/US Presswire)

One of my favorite times of the year is not the Super Bowl, its not the World Series, but instead it’s the My Wish Series on ESPN. I know it is not the same as an actual live sporting event. However, this series has a special place in my heart. I have a nine year old brother who has hemophilia. A few years ago, the Make-A-Wish foundation did something great for him by fulfilling his wish to go to Walt Disney World in Orlando, Florida. He got the star treatment and even as a hemophiliac, he still has a ton of energy today.

Last night, I was watching the My Wish where 16-year-old Adam Hubbs got to meet his idol in Denver Broncos’ quarterback Tim Tebow. We all know about Tebow and how he confesses his love for our Heavenly Father. He does great things on-the-field in his career, however, he shows one quality trait in how we should live as Christians and that is to help others. If you want to read the whole story since I can’t do it justice, you can go to ESPN.com and search My Wish.

The goal of this site is to share the love of Christ through sports. We should love Christ with all our heart, with all our soul, and with our strength. One way that we can do that is to help others. Jesus describes a scenario in Matthew 25 where we need to take care of the people around us in their time of the need to shine the light of Jesus in their life.

For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, I was naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me.’ Then the righteous will answer him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you drink? And when did we see you a stranger and welcome you, or naked and clothe you? And when did we see you sick or in prison and visit you?’ And the King will answer them, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me.’ (Matthew 25:35-40, ESV)

Even if we just tell a fellow brother or sister in Christ that we are praying for them and to bring the joy of God into their lives, we are helping others and glorifying God in the process. I love what Tebow did for Adam.  He is the ideal example of when Paul told the Romans “We who are strong have an obligation to bear with the failings of the weak, and not to please ourselves. (Romans 15:1).

Today, I exhort you to share the grace of God with other people and lend a helping hand to whoever needs it. When you are feeling down and sense a loss of hope, go to your Father in Heaven who will give you the strength to accomplish all the goals he has set out for you even when it is not in the most optimal situation.

Comments
  1. 7Boss1 says:

    I’ve read a lot of blogs but this one really touched me. Thank you for writing such an inspiring piece. We can all learn from this blog and men like Tim Tebow

  2. Ricky Keeler says:

    You are welcome 7Boss1. Spread the piece around and it would be greatly appreciated it. You can also subscribe and get these posts almost every day

Leave a Reply

