Golf Anyone

Posted: July 15, 2011 by John D. Hayden in Golf

Golf Anyone? Photo:Golf Tuition Online

With the NFL and NBA in a Lock-Out, I started thinking about what other sports I can watch or get into while we wait to see if the lock out ends. So this week I started watching golf since the British Open is on ESPN. I have never played golf, except for miniature golf at Amazing Jake’s and other places. I used to own a set of golf clubs, had some golf balls and now I even own an Adidas golf shirt. I have always wanted to drive a golf cart and wear those cool pants around the greens. Watching these golfers named Mcllory, Clark, Glover, Larrazabal, Love made me think how great it would be to have the name Hayden on the Leaderboard.

It seems so easy to hit a little white ball into a hole several feet from you. About every time I play putt-putt I get a few holes in one and always hit par. So how hard could it really be? All I need is a golf club that costs more than a cell phone (unless you can find one at Goodwill), a ball and some cool looking pants. To be completely honest I don’t even know how to score or swing a golf club so that the ball can go over 300 ft and get close to the green. There are even fans who chat and twitter about golf. Today they are chatting live on yahoo about the British open.I mean there is even fantasy golf you play.  It seems to me that you need to have a great swing, great focus and wear a hat and a glove. So maybe I should take up golf and be the next Mickelson.

Watching these golfers strike the ball, I notice that they have a single-minded focus. Their focus is on their golf swing and if they take their focus off the results are shots that are too wide and broad and even end up in the rough or the sand traps. In our Christian walk we are called to have a single-minded focus. The Hebrews author in Hebrews 12:1-2 tells us:

“Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, 2looking to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is seated at the right hand of the throne of God.”

Our single-minded focus should be on the one who died for us and when other things distract us the results are not what we want. We can become distracted that at times we can lose our focus and end up in the rough and sand traps of life. So how is your swing today? How’s your focus? Are you looking to Jesus who has made the perfect hole-in one for us? Keep your focus on the task at hand and if you do your shots will be straight on the fairway and will make it to the green:  Heaven.

So, Golf Anyone?

Comments
  1. Hilary says:

    You really relate topics well!

  2. Hilary says:

    You’re welcome. I saw the link on your FB. I liked all the articles, but only commented on yours because I didn’t recognize the other name. lol

Leave a Reply

